Search this Site

Memberships and Donations

Canada Helps

Click on the logo above to be taken to our Canada Helps page, where you can buy or renew a membership, or make a donation to Willow Beach Field Naturalists. Thank you for your support!

Important Links


NLT Logo revised Feb 2015









Willow Beach Field Naturalists Award Scholarship Winner 2014

  WBFN Scholarship

WBFN Scholarship Winner 2014 Vivienne Jaehn-Kreibaum of East Northumberland Secondary School and WBFN President Petra Hartwig.

The Willow Beach Field Naturalists (WBFN) is dedicated to the protection and enhancement of the natural heritage of Northumberland County and surrounding area and the selection of a deserving candidate each year is based on their volunteer contributions to the environment, either within the school or in the community, together with future goals to preserve our natural heritage and contribute to the environment in a positive, sustainable way. This year’s $1000 Environmental Scholarship was awarded to Vivienne Jaehn-Kreibaum of East Northumberland Secondary School.

Miss Jaehn-Kreibaum exemplified commitment to and involvement in her community environmental issues, participating in volunteer and co-curricular activity in her high school and community, demonstrating her capacity for leadership – we applaud her accomplishments. Miss Jaehn-Kreibaum has applied to three universities, has been accepted by all three, and her first choice is to attend the University of British Columbia. WBFN scholarship is not simply about handing out money to college students – it is about sending a message through generations.

Behind each scholarship that is created there is a story and a passion that drives it. The students who receive these scholarships are deemed to be hardworking and deserving. The selection process is not easy and it is competitive no matter how few students may enter. We are hopeful this sets a precedence for future students in Northumberland.


Willow Beach Field Naturalists Education Award Winners 2014

Three area schools - Dale Road Senior Public School, C.R. Gummow Public School and Cobourg District Collegiate Institute East - were the recipients of the 2014 Education Awards from WBFN. Each school was presented with a cheque for $250 to assist with their projects.

 Both C.R. Gummow Public School and Dale Road Senior Public School submitted proposals for improving and naturalizing the environment in the their school yards. Cobourg District Collegiate Institute East's Environmental Club is launching a water bottle campaign and water bottle refill centre to reduce the usage of bottled water by students in the school.

CR Gummow

Students from CR Gummow Elementary School. The presentation to the school was made by WBFN Member Gina Brouwer to Teacher Laura Pineau's class.. Photo© Bruce Parker

 Dale Road

Students and staff from Dale Road Senior Public School. The presentation to the school was made by WBFN Member Carole Payne. Photo© Bruce Parker



 CDCI East' Envrionmental Club and staff advisor Grant Elliott. The presentation to the school was made by WBFN Member Carole Payne. Photo© Bruce Parker